Young Angels sign off with a win over Kibirkštis MRU

Young Angels sign off with a win over Kibirkštis MRU

The regular season is over. Young Angels Košice secured the fifth place in Group B with a 59-49 win over Kibirkštis MRU on Sunday, January 19, at Mykolas Romeris University in Vilnius, Lithuania.


Players of the game

Channon Tiara Fluker was unstoppable under the baskets. California girl scored 16 points and grabbed 15 rebounds for a efficiency rating of 22.

Bria Goss had 14 points and eight rebounds for the winners.

Vanda Kozakova finished with 11 points and eight rebounds, while Michaela Balazova contributed with six points, three assists and four steals.

Livija Sakeviciute replied with 15 points, five rebounds and a game high six steals.


Key stats

Daugile Šarauskaite did not played for the Vilnius team.

Young Angels outrebounded Kibirkštis MRU 48-24 (offensive rebounds 16-6) and scored more second chance points (15-5).

Košice team led by 15 points 22-7 after the first ten minutes of the game.

Young Angels finished with a positive 4-3 record and logged in the biggest upset of the regular season with a win over Dynamo Novosibirsk.


Play-offs 2020

(A1) Žabiny Brno – SBŠ Ostrava (B4)

(A2) Pieštanske Čajky – Rostov Don SFEDU (B3)

(A3) Nika Syktyvkar – Tsmoki Minsk (B2)

(A4) Orange Lions – Dynamo Novosibirsk (B1)



Group B

Olimpia Grodno – Young Angels 50:57



Kibirkštis MRU – SBŠ Ostrava 69:71



SBŠ Ostrava – Olimpia Grodno 64:61



Young Angels – Kibirkštis MRU 59:49



Best players, presented by Helissa Collagen

SBŠ Ostrava: Sara Dickey

Olimpia Grodno: Yuliya Vasilevich


Young Angels Košice: Channon Tiara Fluker

Kibirkštis MRU: Livija Sakeviciute


STANDINGS, as of January 19

Group B

Dynamo Novosibirsk 6-1 (+155) Qualified

Tsmoki Minsk 6-1 (+76) Qualified

Rostov Don SFEDU 5-2 (+74) Qualified

SBŠ Ostrava 4-3 (-22) Qualified

Young Angels Košice 4-3 (-3)

Kibirkštis MRU 2-5 (-37)

Astana Tigers 1-6 (-109)

Olimpia Grodno 0-7 (-134)



SBŠ Ostrava (1-0, +4) vs Young Angels Košice (0-1, -4)



Playoffs: January 20 – March 1, 2020; best-of-two

A1 – B4, A2 – B3, B2 – A3, B1 – A4

Final Four: March 21-22


Our geography

EWBL member countries so far: Belarus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Ukraine, Turkey.

Follow us on
Live TV

#StrongTogether #EWBL #Season5