Fast break queens Žabiny Brno top group A

Fast break queens Žabiny Brno top group A

Žabiny Brno secured the first place in group A with a dominant 114-48 win over Liepāja/LSSS on Friday, January 10, at Liepāja Olympic Center in Latvia.


Players of the game

Justina Matuzonyte scored 10 points and grabbed six rebounds in the first half alone. Lithuanian center finished the game with 16 points and nine rebounds

Petra Zaplatova registered 14 points, four asists and three steals.

Beata Adamcova stole the ball nine times. Czech national team forward scored nine points, grabbed six rebounds and dished five assists.


Key stats

Žabiny Brno scored 30 points on fastbreaks in just 20 minutes, while Liepāja/LSSS answered with two points.

Seven Brno players – Matuzonyte, Zaplatova, Vondrackova, Galickova, Stoupalova, Krivankova and Soukalova – finished in double figures.

The Frogs outscored the hosts 36-15 in the opening frame and extended their lead up to 37 points just before the halftime break 63-26.

Liepāja/LSSS played without two experienced players – Kristīna Petermane and Rūta Veidere.

Žabiny Brno hold advantage (1-0, +34) against Pieštanske Čajky. The Frogs will try to finish the regular season undefeated.



Group A

Orange Lions – Pieštanske Čajky 63:83



Liepāja/LSSS – Žabiny Brno 48:114

Live stats


Best players, presented by Liepāja

Orange Lions: Karin Kuijt

Pieštanske Čajky: Jessica January


Liepāja/LSSS: Megan Rosenbohm

Žabiny Brno: Justina Matuzonyte


STANDINGS, as of January 10

Group A

Žabiny Brno 6-0 (+160) Qualified

Nika Syktyvkar 5-2 (+86) Qualified

Pieštanske Čajky 5-1 (+20) Qualified

Orange Lions 4-2 (+22) Qualified

Dynamo Moscow 2-5 (-25)

Horizont Minsk 2-5 (-14)

Liepāja/LSSS 1-5 (-149)

PINKK Pecsi 1-6 (-100)


SCHEDULE (arrival day included)

Third stage

January 7-9, Saulkrasti, Latvia: Dynamo Moscow, Horizont, PINKK Pecsi 424, Nika Syktyvkar

January 9-11,Liepāja: Liepāja/LSSS, Žabiny Brno, Pieštanske Cajky, Orange Lions

January 15-17, Novosibirsk: Tsmoki Minsk, Rostov Don, Astana Tigers, Dynamo Novosibirsk

January 17-19, Vilnius: Olimpia Grodno, Young Angels, SBŠ Ostrava, Kibirkštis


Playoffs: January 20 – March 1, 2020; best-of-two

A1 – B4, A2 – B3, B2 – A3, B1 – A4

Final Four: March 21-22


Our geography

EWBL member countries so far: Belarus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Ukraine, Turkey.


Follow us on
Live TV

#StrongTogether #EWBL #Season5